I’m feeling rather pensive currently, most likely a side-effect of the perpetual water sprinkles we’ve been endowed these past few days — All the more reason to feel chipper about not having to wash my car manually. My next move, then, is to devise a method in somehow migrating the unlaundered dishes into the rainfall…

This past weekend, I came across a movie titled “The Fountain.” Though I admit I am by far not a qualified critic, I must spout my perception of the film nevertheless simply because I find the critiques to be unjust. Many reviewers regarded the movie as aimless, confusing, and other adjectives I can’t quite recall momentarily. I agree that the movie mystified me at times, but not in the sense that these critics had mentioned. The beauty of this particular film is that it leaves you with a lingering idea. You can either agree with the message or negate it. The problem, however, is that many people fail to grasp the intendment the director, Darren Aronofsky, is trying to communicate because the subject is elusive per se. Yes, as a director he should ensure that his viewers comprehend his films, but haven’t you ever experienced an instance where your abstractions transcend the average human intellect by such a colossal degree that only a select few can begin to fathom the concepts? Furthermore, I seem to enjoy movies that leave you pondering, perhaps due to my overly analytical nature, more than the norm. No, the word “pondering” does not suffice; it can be better described as intellectual introspection.

Critics may also lack appreciation for the movie purely because the concept is one that’s rather hard to swallow. The ongoing motif present throughout the film depicts Death vs. Immortality. Id est death is imminent, and rather than fear it, we should accept it. At least that’s what I’ve managed to cohesively comprehend from the film — You may disagree. Instead of viewing the movie with an open mind, the critics choose to downplay the significance. What I have thus observed from the numerous reviews I have read from movie critics is that they prefer to use a vulgar intonation in their writing. Being a part of their occupational standards, acerbic diction, which is well beyond profuse in any ordinary converse sense, is conventional. That said, they feel no penitence in displaying their cynical views because they feel it is expected of them. Such critiques, then (if you are one to read), should only be taken half-heartedly.

If not for the purport that you decide to watch the movie, at least enjoy the aesthetically pleasing scenes. And although I confess seeing a bald Hugh Jackman wearing pajamas and sitting in a lotus position is extremely bizarre, his acting in the film is notable for the most part.

On a last note with reference to the movie — I enjoyed it; did not love it; enjoyed it.

Considering I acquired a whopping 4 hours of sleep the night before, I shan’t keep the sheeps waiting. My mind seems to be working in disarrayed tangents that even I cannot quell.
Until next time, my little munchkins!

